GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 5 December 2008.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Mrs S V Hohler (Substitute for Ms S J Carey), Mr W V Newman, DL, Mr R Tolputt and Mr M J Vye

OFFICERS: Mr R Dale (School Governance Officer), Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

10. Minutes

(Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 26 September 2008 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

11. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent *(Item B1)*

(1) The Panel agreed that as Mr P Donnay was a parent of pupils at Kings Hill Primary School, he should not be appointed as an LEA Governor at that School. A suitable alternative position would be offered to him at another School in the locality.

(2) RESOLVED that the appointments of Local Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary and Special Schools be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

12. Proposed additional guideline for recommendation to Selection and Member Services Committee

(Item B2)

RESOLVED that the report be forwarded to Selection and Member Services Committee together with a recommendation for the addition of a new guideline (h) to read:-

"A parent eligible for election as a parent governor should not be considered for appointment to the governing body of any school attended by one of their own children."

This page is intentionally left blank

Appointee Mr A Wickham

Mr N Newton Mrs R Hawes

Appointee Mr W Barton

Appointee

Appointee Mr J Peters Mr D Hammock Miss A Ball

Appointee

Major John Kemp MBE

APPENDIX (Paragraph 9 of the Minutes refers)

1. **CLUSTER: AS1 ASHFORD**

DCSF No:	School
2270	Aldington Primary School
2574	Downs View Infant School
4246	The North School
4196	The Towers School School

2. **CLUSTER : ASHFORD RURAL**

DCSF No:	School
2282	Great Chart Primary School

3. **CLUSTER : CANTERBURY CITY AND COUNTRY**

2266Petham Primary SchoolMr O Daplock2611St Stephen's Infant SchoolMrs A Depledge		
---	--	--

CLUSTER : CANTERBURY COASTAL 4.

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2643	Swalecliffe Community Primary School	Mrs M Blight

5. **CLUSTER : CRANBROOK AND PADDOCK WOOD**

DCSF No:	School
3022	Benenden CEP School

Benenden CEP School	Mr W Martin
Goudhurst and Kilndown CEP School	Ms F Dall'Occo
Horsmenden Primary School	Mr A Elsworthy
Paddock Wood Primary School	Mr R Parkes
Sandhurst Primary School	Mrs N Nicholas
	Goudhurst and Kilndown CEP School Horsmenden Primary School Paddock Wood Primary School

CLUSTER : DARTFORD EAST 6.

DCSF No:	School
3296	Langafel CEP School
4250	Swan Valley Community School
3915	Manor Community Primary School

7. **CLUSTER : DARTFORD WEST**

DCSF No: School

3733	Our Lady's Catholic Primary School	Mr P Kelly
2676	West Hill Primary School	Mrs S Clarke
2676	West Hill Primary School	Mrs A Ready

8. **CLUSTER : DEAL AND SANDWICH**

DCSF No:	School
3168	Goodnestone CEP School
2659	Sandown School
2626	Sandwich Infant School
5428	Sir Roger Manwood's School

9. **CLUSTER : DOVER**

DCSF No:	School
5459	Dover Grammar School for Boys
2318	Langdon Primary School
2532	St Margaret's at Cliffe Primary School
2531	Vale View Community School
2315	The Dover Federation for the Arts

10. **CLUSTER : GRAVESHAM**

DCSE No: School

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2095	Cecil Road Primary and Nursery School	Mr P Kang
5465	Gravesend Grammar School	Mr T Dhesi
2674	Kings Farm Primary School	Mrs L Burge
4040	Northfleet School for Girls	Mrs J Christie
2119	Shears Green Infant School	Mr A Fowle

CLUSTER : MC2 (MAIDSTONE) 11.

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2174	Molehill Copse Primary School	Mrs C Brewster
2173	Oak Trees Community School	Mr P Ananicz

Appointee Dr N Ellen Mr J Cronk Mr H Verrier Mr D Fuller

Appointee Mr R Terry Mrs C Hilson Mrs A Newton Mrs P Connolly Mrs U Mills

12. **CLUSTER : MAIDSTONE 1**

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
4064	The Astor of Hever Community School	Mr M Rideout
2653	West Borough Primary School	Mr P Noakes

13. **CLUSTER : MALLING**

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
5410	Aylesford School Sports College	Mr R Baker
2167	Ightham Primary School	Mrs T Higgins
2191	St Katherine's School	Mr J Edgar
3079	Stansted CEP School	Ms Y Tisson
3082	Trottiscliffe CEP School	Mrs D Laite
2530	Tunbury Primary School	Mrs C Burford
3086	West Malling CEP School	Mrs J Read

14. **CLUSTER : SEVENOAKS SOUTH**

DCSF No: School

3313	Fordcombe CEP School
2133	Halstead Community Primary School
3037	St John's CEP School
2089	The Anthony Roper Primary School

CLUSTER : SHEPWAY 1 15.

DCSF No: School 3904 Castle Hill Community Primary School 3149 St Martin's CEP School Hawkinge Primary School 2298

16. CLUSTER : RURAL SHEPWAY

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3137	Brookland CEP School	Mrs V Cubbon

Appointee Mrs A Tiley Mr G Williamson Ms L McMullan Mr E Lanyon

Appointee Ms J Rumley

Dr J Figg

Mrs M Hibbert

CLUSTER : RURAL SWALE 17.

DCSE No School

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2534	Bysing Wood Primary School	Miss M Gibbins
2252	Murston Junior School	Ms M Tomes
3112	Selling CEP School	Mr P Thompson
2246	Sheldwich Primary School	Mr D Milham

18. **CLUSTER : URBAN SWALE**

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3891	Kemsley Primary School	Mrs S Gent
2231	Lower Halstow School	Mr P Marshall
2231	Lower Halstow School	Mr G Lewin
2434	Sheerness West Federation	Mr D Newbury
9005	The Challenger Centre (PRU)	Mr P Hartfree

CLUSTER : SWANLEY AND DISTRICT 19.

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3907	Hextable Primary School	Mr S Sherrell

20. **CLUSTER : THANET 1**

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3178	Birchington CEP School	Ms C Martin
4172	Hartsdown Technology College	Mrs J Davies
2337	St Crispin's Community Primary Infant School	Mr P Newman

21. CLUSTER : THANET 2

DCSF No: 2603 4118 4118 New federation	School Bromstone Primary School Federated Ramsgate Grammar Schools Federated Ramsgate Grammar Schools Dane Court Grammar & King Ethelbert High Schools	<i>Appointee</i> Ms A Holliday Dr J Sexton Mrs S Slade Dr V Austin
New federation	Dane Court Grammar & King Ethelbert High Schools	Mr N Hudson
New federation	Dane Court Grammar & King Ethelbert High Schools	Mr R Harris
New federation	Dane Court Grammar & King Ethelbert High Schools	Dr H Wilton
4122 2523	Ellington School for Girls Upton Junior School	Dr W Dodds Mr J Shaw

22. CLUSTER : TONBRIDGE

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
2667	St Stephen's Tonbridge Primary School	Ms C Matthews
1008	Federation of Malling School and Holmesdale Technology College	Mr P Binnie

23. CLUSTER: TUNBRIDGE WELLS

DCSF No:	School	Appointee
3754	St Augustine's Catholic Primary School	Mrs C Mellors
3294	St Matthew's High Brooms CEP School	Mrs D Hill

08/c&g/gap/120508minutes appendix